top bg

New City Council Members start terms in January

Woodbury voters elected Anne Burt as mayor, and selected Jennifer Santini and Steve Morris to fill two positions on the Woodbury City Council on Nov. 6. All three will begin four-year terms in January.

Burt, 56, is the sixth mayor since Woodbury's incorporation in 1967. Burt will assume the seat being vacated by Mary Giuliani Stephens, who did not seek re-election. Burt has more than 30 years of experience working in small and large companies in the area of water quality. She has served on the city's Planning Commission, Parks and Recreation Commission and 2040 Comprehensive Plan Task Force, and is graduate of the Woodbury Citizens' Academy. Burt has also been involved in local youth athletics. She has resided in Woodbury for 14 years with her husband, Jeff. The couple has three adult children: Kaeleigh, Kilian and Monika.

Santini and Morris emerged from a slate of nine candidates seeking the two City Council seats. Santini, 37, co-owns a law firm, Sykora & Santini PLLC, and serves as chair of the city's 2040 Comprehensive Plan Task Force and is a member of the city's Economic Development Commission. Santini also is active with the East Side Learning Center and Wills for Heroes, a nonprofit group that assists emergency responders with preparing their estate plans. She has lived in Woodbury since 2009. Santini and her husband, Matt Benson, have two sons (ages 3 and 1).

Morris, 38, is a regional manager for Speedway (formerly SuperAmerica), where he is responsible for operations strategy. He currently serves as a member of the city's Planning Commission and is co-chair of the Metropolitan Council's Gold Line Bus Rapid Transit Project's Community and Business Advisory Committee. Morris also is active with the United Heroes League, a nonprofit group that ensures children of military members are afforded every opportunity to participate in sports. He has worked in Woodbury for more than 20 years and has lived in Woodbury for four years. Morris is engaged to be married in January 2019.

Santini and Morris will assume the Council seats being vacated by Julie Ohs and Christopher Burns, who did not seek re-election.

You can see a list of results from the Nov. 6 General Election at the Minnesota Secretary of State's website